Starbursts/Marshmallows/Jello

We recently had an employee appreciation day at work where we were able to buy candy and write a “thank you” message for coworkers.  I was so excited when I received a few packs of Starburst Fruit Chews and quickly stashed them in my desk drawer for the next time my sweet tooth kicked in. A week or so later my vegan journey began and of course, that’s when my cravings hit too.

I remember thinking “These have to be vegan… what kind of animal product could possibly be in here?”. As I was chewing, I googled “Are Starbursts vegan?” and was quickly disappointed. I learned that they are actually not considered vegan and the ingredient in question was gelatin. Now, judge me however you want, but I had NO IDEA gelatin was an animal product. Along with this research, came my discovery that jello and marshmallows were also no longer fair game…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s